About us

QuviQ was founded
in May, 2006, by John Hughes and Thomas Arts.

John Hughes, CEO    (john.hughes@quviq.com)

John is a well-known researcher in functional programming, the author of the classic paper Why Functional Programming Matters, and a contributor to the design of Haskell. He has been a Professor since 1985, at the University of Glasgow and Chalmers University in Gothenburg. He invented QuickCheck together with Koen Claessen in 2000, recently earning an ACM SIGPLAN award for the work. Since then John has focussed more and more on software testing, co-founding Quviq in 2006.


John Hughes, CEO

Thomas Arts, CTO    (thomas.arts@quviq.com)

Thomas was a researcher at Ericsson, and then a professor at Chalmers University, before co-founding Quviq. As a researcher in Ericsson's Computer Science Laboratory he worked on software verification tools for Erlang. In his academic career his research focussed on the application of state-of-the-art research results in an industrial setting. As the CTO of Quviq, Thomas continues to explore cool technical solutions for innovative products.


Thomas Arts, CTO

Ulf Norell, QuickCheck Expert    (ulf.norell@quviq.com)

Ulf obtained his PhD from Chalmers in 2007, making his name as the creator of the latest version of the dependently-typed programming language Agda. Ulf is a long-time Haskell and Erlang expert, and joined Quviq in 2008. He is the brains behind Quviq's C-testing interface, and the QuickCheck infrastructure underlying our AUTOSAR testing.


Ulf Norell, QuickCheck Expert

Hans Svensson, QuickCheck Expert    (hans.svensson@quviq.com)

Hans completed his PhD at Chalmers in 2008, on distributed leader election. Hans verified the gen_leader leader election implementation in Erlang, pinning down several subtle bugs in the process. He has focussed on testing concurrent Erlang systems with QuickCheck and the PULSE randomizing scheduler. He has been working for Quviq since 2008.


Hans Svensson, QuickCheck Expert

Alex Gerdes, QuickCheck Expert    (alex.gerdes@quviq.com)

During his PhD Alex created Ask-Elle, an online funcional programming tutor for Haskell. His programming skills are now used to strengthen QuviQ's QuickCheck team. He joined QuviQ in 2012, and focusses on developing QuickCheck models for automotive applications, and on using QuickCheck for testing web services.


Alex Gerdes, QuickCheck Expert

Josef Svenningsson, FlexRay specialist    (josef.svenningsson@quviq.com)

Josef graduated with a PhD from Chalmers in 2007, working in program analysis, program fusion, and security. He has been working recently on the Feldspar DSP programming language, based on Haskell. He joined Quviq in 2011, focussing on QuickCheck specifications of the FlexRay communication system for automotive control applications.